Warning: getimagesize(3076): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/vhosts/martijnstadhouders.com/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/travis/header-grid.php on line 60
Medicare International Reciprocal Agreements

For international students or work visa employees in Australia, if you get sick or have an accident, you may need to directly fund the total cost of your treatment. The Private Health Insurance Ombudsman says that public hospitalization of an uninsured patient can cost more than $1,500 per day for accommodation alone. In addition, there are medical and drug costs. To see if you are qualified for Medicare, visit www.medicareaustralia.gov.au Please note that this information is correct at the time of writing, but may change. You can check the current status of any mutual health agreement for which you are allowed to check here on the Australian government website. The United Kingdom has mutual health agreements with several non-EEA countries and territories. Finns are covered by the reciprocal agreement for the duration of their stay in Australia until their visa expires. The agreements do not cover the cost of repatriation to the UK (repatriation) or routine monitoring of existing conditions. However, there are several reasons why someone from a country with a mutual health agreement could still choose to purchase OVHC insurance.

OVHC policies may cover items that are not covered by Medicare and are therefore not available to RHCA visitors without health insurance: Note: Mutual health agreements with the following countries were terminated in 2016: If you plan to live or work in any of the countries of mutual agreement, the information contained in the links below may not apply. Here`s a look at countries that currently have mutual agreement and claims: Australia has a mutual health agreement with the UK, which means that UK residents are able to get some free health services while you visit Australia. You are treated as if you were in the country in question. In general, these agreements apply to British nationals living in the United Kingdom. If you are not a British national, you can still be insured for an inexpensive or free treatment if you normally live in the UK. Australia has mutual health agreements with New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Italy, Norway, Malta, Belgium, Slovenia and Ireland. Each mutual agreement is different and varies in terms of both benefits and eligibility duration.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.